3 min read

Happy 112th Birthday BSA! Roundtable this Thursday at 7pm!

Happy 112th Birthday BSA! Roundtable this Thursday at 7pm!

Lone Star District, Longhorn Council

February 2022 Newsletter

Tomorrow, February 8th is the 112th anniversary of the founding of the Boy Scouts of America. Units many times celebrate this anniversary in February by observing Scout Sunday and Cub Scout Blue and Gold Banquets. How is your unit celebrating? Come share your units practices and traditions with us at District Roundtable on Thursday February 10th at 7PM at Lighthouse Fellowship (7200 Robertson Rd, Fort Worth, TX 76135). As always, we will have great training breakouts of Scout and Cub Leaders and the latest information about things going on in the District and Council. Can’t make it in person? Join the Zoom call:

Time: Feb 10, 2022 07:00 PM Central Time (US and Canada)

Join Zoom Meeting


Meeting ID: 827 3568 7645

Passcode: 963480

Save the Date - Lone Star District Awards Banquet: April 14th 2022

Please help nominate deserving Scouters for District Award of Merit (form downloadable here) your unit. Please send District Award of Merit nominations to Ted Eadie at: tweadie@flash.net

The District Award of Merit will be awarded at our Lone Star District Awards ceremony at the April Roundtable on Thursday April 14th at 7PM. More details to come.

Save the Date - Lone Star District Camporee: April 8th -10th, 2022

Our Apache Chapter of the Order of the Arrow is busy planning an exceptional District Camp-o-ree happening on April 8th-10th. More details to come!

Scout Saver cards are available to order now!

Scoutsavers are ready! This is a great way to raise funds to send your kids to camp.

The $10 cards are great this year and pay for themselves with a $10 Coupon at Albertsons or Tom Thumb!

To sign up to sell or find more info:


If you need anything please contact our Scout Saver Chair Lennee Weldon at lenee.weldon@gmail.com

More info and training at Roundtable! Investment in Character (Formerly Friends of Scouting) presentations, University of Scouting News, Cub Scout Spring Break Camp and More! Roundtable is for Den Leaders, Committee Members, Assistant Scoutmasters, Cubmasters, Advisors, Scoutmasters - everyone is welcome.

Yours in Scouting,

Tom Kisner, District Commissioner

Lone Star District 48

District Leadership

District Chair - Rich Tharp - rtharp@wstx.us

District Executive - Chris Bankus - chris.bankus@scouting.org

District Commissioner - Tom Kisner - kisner@live.com

Asst District Commissioner - Dan Robinson - daniel.robinson@sbcglobal.net

District Vice-Chair - Fred Fleury - fred.fleury@charter.net

District Vice-Chair - Julie Geho - juliegeho68@yahoo.com

District Vice-Chair - Steve Woika - woika79@yahoo.com

OA Chapter Advisor - Daniel Sewell - mrsewell.scouts@yahoo.com

Advancement Chair - Theodore Eadie - tweadie@flash.net

Training Chair - Duane Mann - duanemann@specializedcontrolsinc.com

Finance Chair - Jeffrey Mahlmann - j.mahlmann@sbcglobal.net

Camping Chair - Charlie Martin - sales@martintruckent.com

International Chair - Paul Massey - twohyde@hotmail.com

Marketing Chair - Petri Scott - exhaletoday@gmail.com

District Religious Emblems Coordinator - Tom Kisner - kisner@live.com