Lone Star District Awards

Lone Star District Awards

Lone Star District Award of Excellence

This award celebrates an adult leader who renders noteworthy service to Scouting in the capacity of their registered unit Scout position. Each unit selects their recipient to recognize those who have provided exceptional leadership and service to their Pack, Troop, Crew, or Post and who exemplify the principles of Scouting (Scout Oath and Law). Awarded to one adult per unit.

Lone Star District Unit Spirit Award

The Unit Spirit Award is designed to recognize one individual in a unit who best exemplifies the ideals of Scouting in everything that they do. They do not need to be a registered leader, but should motivate others, work tirelessly, and have a positive influence with all they come in contact. Awarded to one adult per unit.

District Award of Merit

The District/Division Award of Merit is awarded by a District or Exploring Division to volunteer and professional adults for service to youth in the District or Division. Normally, the award is presented for service to youth in excess of five years. A person may receive more than one District/Division Award of Merit, although there are no provisions for the wearing of a device or emblem officially to denote the second or subsequent awards. Unofficially, those Award holders that have received more than one may wear a small Universal device centered on the knot. The BSA has no records of any volunteer or professional earning the Award of Merit in more than two separate Districts or Divisions. Career members of the Boy Scouts of America may receive this award upon concurrence of the Council Scout Executive and the Director of Operations at the National office, BSA.

Candidates for this award must be nominated. Self-nomination disqualifies the candidate.


  • A nominee must be a registered Scouter.

A nominee must have rendered noteworthy service to youth in Scouting, outside of Scouting, or both.

  • Note: The nature and value of "noteworthy service to youth" may consist of a single plan or decisions that contributed vitally to the lives of large numbers of youth or it may have been given to a small group over an extended period of time.
  • Consideration must be given to the nominee's Scouting position and the corresponding opportunity to render outstanding service beyond the expectations of that Scouting position.
  • The nominee's attitude toward and cooperation with the district, division, and/or council is to be taken into consideration.

Lone Star District Award of Merit Recipients


Fred Fleury

Duane Mann


Thomas Kisner


TBD           ‌

After the Longhorn Council District reorganization in 2020, the new Lone Star District included areas from several previous districts, but notably includes most all of the previous Silver Star District.

For historical purposes the previous the recipients of the Sliver Star District Award of Merit from 1970-2019 are located here: